Tags

, ,

I am completely uninspired for a title this time. I refuse to use the actual names of babies and children because I’m a security nut online but unfortunately the name my friend and her husband picked lends itself to a lot of cute literature twists, but they’d run too close to his name. All I can say is that against all odds they have welcomed a pretty healthy baby boy and now he properly has a knitted blankie to wrap up in for the rest of his life. And maybe use with his own children one day… One can hope anyway.

So, I did finally finish the baby blanket I was making for said baby. I got to drop it off this last weekend, only a week after Baby S decided to make his appearance. He was early though, so *technically* I would have been done on time had that not happened… This is not the first close call with a project, as my Dad likes to say, I’m a procrastiknitter.

It turned out a bit bigger than I imagined, but that can be a good thing. It’s a decent baby blanket size that will work even for a 7 year old I think.

Pattern is from Victorian Lace Today by Jane Sowerby (pattern on page 54, aka “Large Rectangle in leaf and trellis pattern with trellis border”), though it was worked with DK weight yarn and US size 8 needles. I did one extra width-wise repeat and only did 12 pattern repeats length wise in order to make this blanket sized. I cast on in the beginning of March but I wasn’t completely dedicated until I realized the kid was most definitely not going to wait for his due date. Otherwise, a pretty relaxing knit and I did love the center panel, it worked up like a dream.

