So it’s been 5 months. As DH has informed me, the blog has been sadly neglected to the point of near abandonment this summer. To be honest though, it’s been a pretty busy or at least event filled summer.

Things started off with a bang when I visited Solvang and Jalama Beach with my parents and I have pictures, but we’ll have to see if I get that into a post.

However, a huge event that has led to the huge lack of my ability to blog this summer was due to some very special news.

23 WeeksDH and I are expecting! I’m currently 24 weeks and thrilled, and of course I’ve been knitting and planning on the things I need to get done before the baby arrives. I have a nearly complete baby sweater and baby blanket in progress, but those are for other posts.

As for finished objects just a small project to report for now. Not knitting this time, but rather quilting. The picture is a bit dark, I’m still adjusting to my phone camera which I realized this summer takes pictures that are much better quality than my old camera, so they will have to do until I get more practice in or at the very least, decide to take pictures at a halfway decent hour when there is sunlight available.

Quilted PlacematsMy beginner attempt at learning quilting, aka placemats. Just a basic half square triangle design that I dabbled with, one fat quarter of the darker contrast fabric was enough for both placemats, and I believe I used less than 3/4 of a yard of the lighter fabric for the half square triangles, backing and the binding. It was a good practice for me as I learned a few new things about my sewing machine. One huge realization was that the little mark it has to show where your 1/4 inch seam allowance would be, is so not 1/4 inch. This was actually a rather quick project to complete, I started cutting out the pieces earlier this week and then finished the binding earlier today. All in all, not too shabby for a first completed project.

